How-To Fix Microsoft Edge Is Being Used For Sharing Message

Spread the love

A message, “Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing. If you close Microsoft Edge, some items might not be shared.” might show up when you try to close Microsoft Edge and no matter how many times you click Close anyway, the browser window will not close. There is no complete fix for this message and no one is really sure what is causing it but there is a quick way to close the browser and then have all your current tabs reopen.

Table of Contents

The Problem

While using Microsoft Edge an issue occurs that moves the New tab + button to the far right of the browser and prevents you from closing the browser with a message “Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing. If you close Microsoft Edge, some items might not be shared.” It will look similar to the below image:

This is a problem that has existed for quite some time, as this Tweet from 2016 shows:

The Solution

Currently this appears to be a bug within either Microsoft Edge or Windows 10 and can not be fixed with out an update from Microsoft. Until a fix is provided, the easiest way to fix this issue is to simply kill the Microsoft Edge program via Task Manager. In the search field next to your Windows button type Task Manger and open it. Once open, simply find Microsoft Edge, right click and select End Task. Microsoft Edge will close and when you open it again it should open with your previous tabs again.

Task Manager
Task Manager

If you have more information regarding this issue, please feel free to leave a comment below.

 


Spread the love

12
Leave a Reply

avatar
5 Comment threads
7 Thread replies
8 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
9 Comment authors
TinkBrent WilsonJeff PickardAnonymousDavid Hiss Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Evader
Guest
Evader

Do you think this might be a security issue?

jon
Guest
jon

Just an extremely annoying issue :-). It started for me when I tried moving my tabs around. Now I can’t even do that. :-(. Maybe it is time to leave edge and try it again in a year or so see if they fixed their bugs.

David Hiss
Guest
David Hiss

The verbiage of the message itself: “Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing. If you close Microsoft Edge, some items might not be shared.” CERTAINLY implies a security issue! What is being shared? With Whom is it being shared? How can you state that you do not see any reason to suspect that this is security issue? What do you know that allows you to make this statement? This is Microsoft’s Official explanation of this error: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/edge/forum/all/message-microsoft-edge-is-being-used-for-sharing/d8debae0-ef40-435b-9c59-0d3700023faa It does not say anything about why this error occurs or what is or is not being shared. In fact, there isn’t any… Read more »

Jeff Pickard
Guest
Jeff Pickard

I encountered this issue on Windows 10 after moving the location of a browser tab in Edge. After I used Task Manager to stop Edge, I didn’t see the issue again until I once again moved the location of an Edge browser tab. I found the problem completely went away if after I used Task Manager to stop Edge, I then set the “Scroll inactive windows when I hover over them” mouse setting to “off”.

Thomas
Guest
Thomas

“the easiest way to fix this issue” – I’m afraid it’s not really a fix. At work, where I often have 10 or more tabs open, whenever I encounter described issue just killing the whole process cannot be considered a “fix”… having to research all over again just to find the same websites I had opened before is unbelievably inconvenient… I hope Microsoft will fix this some day.
Almost every day I encounter this issue, when trying to move a tab to another desktop. I guess it’s time to switch to Firefox.

Dave P
Guest
Dave P

using Task Manager works, thanks. Funny (or not) that MS person couldn’t suggest this!

Anonymous
Guest
Anonymous

It happened to me when I was organizing favorites. I was dragging a favorite to a folder when the drag stopped about halfway down the list. It left the favorite stuck on the screen lying on top of the browser. minimizing and restoring the window still showed the stuck “drag image” on screen. The only way to get rid of it was to close the browser, which is when the message showed about sharing. Hmmm.

Tink
Guest
Tink

Anonymous
I just had the same problem. Has MS created a solution yet?